February 7, 2023

How the tier system impacts each California county and business sector

If you find the state’s four-color system of tiers a little confusing, scroll for a  breakdown of what it means by business sectors.

The state’s Blueprint for a Safer Economy explains:  Every county in California is assigned to a tier based on its test positivity and adjusted case rate. At a minimum, counties must remain in a tier for at least 3 weeks before moving forward. Data is reviewed weekly and tiers are updated on Tuesdays. To move forward, a county must meet the next tier’s criteria for two consecutive weeks. If a county’s metrics worsen for two consecutive weeks, it will be assigned a more restrictive tier.

How different are the tiers?

Purple is the most restrictive, especially for education. Schools in the Widespread (purple) tier aren’t permitted to reopen for in-person instruction unless they receive a waiver from local health departments for TK-6 grades.

Schools can reopen for in-person instruction once their county has been in the red tier for at least two weeks.

County breakdown  as of Sept. 29:

* Entering into a supportive engagement period with the California Department of Public Health.. Modoc will remain in the yellow tier. Lake held harmless will be held in the red tier.

** County was in tier adjudication with CDPH. Final determination places county in Orange tier for 09/29 assessment and retroactively for 09/22

***County underwent tier adjudication with CDPH after 9/22 tier assignment. County has been moved from Red to Orange tier.

Source: http://www.dof.ca.gov/Forecasting/Demographics/Projections/

Source Article

Exit mobile version